Club History

Clane Lawn Tennis Club was founded in 1973.  The club founders were Dessie Marron, Bryan Sammon, Liz Higgins, Peter O' Neill and Liam Burke. In the early years, the club operated out of Clongowes Wood College with the kind permission of the school. Michael Hennessy and Paddy Behan organised internal leagues, while the club began to play in the Dublin leagues and competitions.

In 1985, the club moved to its present location on the Dublin Road. Initially the club had 5 all weather concrete courts and a small pre-fabricated building serving as its clubhouse. The club introduced floodlighting to its courts in the late 1980's in order to provide its members with extended playing time.

In the late 1990's, the club upgraded its courts to provide artificial grass playing surface on all 5 courts and also built its new clubhouse offering comfortable club rooms, shower and changing facilities.

The club is now over 40 years old and has a proud history and tradition, but also continues to look forward creating more history.


Current Committee  23/24

Chairperson:            Dave Ferguson
Secretary:                Aisling McCormack
Treasurer:                Ciaran Cullen
Men's Captain:        Gareth Brogan
Ladies Captain:       Elizabeth Kiernan
Grounds:                 Owen Edwards
Social:                     Paula Fagan
Juniors/Tennis:        Shaun Mahony